Connect with us

State Regulations

Cannabis Laws in Indiana

mm
Updated on

In Indiana, recreational use of cannabis is illegal, while medical use is legal under certain conditions. Possessing any amount of marijuana is a Class B misdemeanor which is punishable by imprisonment of up to 180 or a $1000 fine.

Prohibition (1913): The state of Indiana banned the sale of unprescribed marijuana in 1913.

Failed attempts to raise or lower penalties (2013): A bill was tabled to decriminalize the possession of a small amount of cannabis, but it fell through. After this, the senate presented an amendment to a previously approved Bill 1006. This bill had higher penalties for the possession of cannabis, with other categories of possession being categorized as felonies. As per a statement by Governor Mike Pence, “I think we need to focus on reducing crime, not reducing penalties.” These amendments came to effect under IC 35-48-4 on July 1, 2014.

One of the penalties was that the sale or cultivation of cannabis within 1,000 feet of either a school or any other place considered specialized will cause a sentence of 2–8 years at the minimum and a $10,000 fine.

Marion County (2019): This was the first county to decriminalize possession of 1 ounce (28 g) of cannabis on 30th September 2019.

Does Indiana have Cannabis Church?

Pending the 2015 passing of Indiana’s Religious Freedom Restoration Act (RFRA), Bill Levin created the First Church of Cannabis in Indiana. They found this church in March 2015 and received recognition for its registration as “a religious non-profit entity” on March 26, which is the very day the governor put his signature on the RFRA. Prior to the taking effect of the RFRA, the church had been warned by an Indiana police chief that they would not be protected by RFRA during the taking of their sacramental marijuana.

Is Medical cannabis legal in Indiana?

Bills were introduced in both senate and the house in early 2015 for the legalization of medical cannabis to treat and manage certain severe conditions under the recommendation of a doctor. The House bill did not advance and the Senate bill failed to receive a hearing.

In April 2017, however, legislation allowing CBD oil with less than 0.3% THC for controlling seizures was signed into law by Governor Eric Holcomb and on July 1, it went into effect.

In March 2018, they signed further legislation into law legalizing CBD (less than 0.3% THC), though additional requirements were imposed in testing and labeling.

close

MyCannabis.com News!

We’d love to keep you updated with our latest cannabis news, industry interviews, and offers.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Lydia K. (Bsc. RN) is a cannabis writer, which, considering where you’re reading this, makes perfect sense. Currently, she is a regular writer for Mace Media. In the past, she has written for MyBud, RX Leaf & Dine Magazine (Canada), CBDShopy (UK) and Cannavalate & Pharmadiol (Australia). She is best known for writing epic news articles and medical pieces. Occasionally, she deviates from news and science and creates humorous articles. And boy doesn't she love that! She equally enjoys ice cream, as should all right-thinking people.

Advertiser Disclosure: MyCannabis.com is committed to rigorous editorial standards to provide our readers with accurate reviews and ratings. We may receive compensation when you click on links to products we reviewed.

Educational & Medical Disclaimer: This information is for educational purposes only. We are not medical professionals, and no information on this website should be construed as medical advice. For more information please view our Educational & Medical Disclaimer.

Minimum Age: To use this website you must be the minimum age as allowed in your jurisdiction. USA visitors must be 21, visitors from Canada must be 18 or 19 years of age depending on the province. It is illegal for a person younger than this to use this website.