- USA Map of Regulation
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
- Washington. DC
Table Of Contents
From all indications, the legalization of marijuana in the state of Kansas is still a long way away. Kansas is one of the last remaining states in which cannabis is still fully illegal and possessing even small amounts is a misdemeanor. In Kansa, only CBD (cannabidiol) oil that is THC free is legal.
Since the cannabis ban in the early 20th century, the state of Kansas has taken a hard stance against legalizing cannabis. An example of the extreme measures against marijuana this state has taken in the past is the Shona Banda Case. In March 2015, a Garden City resident named Shona Banda was arrested for using medical cannabis to treat debilitating Crohn’s disease. When found out, the state charged her with five counts of a felony relating to cannabis. This came to light after her 11 years old child mentioned her cannabis use publicly in school. The boy was as a result removed from the care of Banda by child protection services and put in her ex-husband’s care. For possession and use of cannabis, Banda faces up to 30 years in prison.
Another instance is when 10 Kansas sheriffs, along with another two states, sued Colorado alleging that her legalization of marijuana was causing the law enforcement of neighboring states to have an undue burden. This lawsuit was, however unsuccessful.
Is Medical cannabis legal in Texas?
Governor Jeff Colyer signed SB 282 on May 14, 2018, exempting CBD oil from being defined as marijuana, therefore, allowing its usage. The Kansas State House passed another Bill 78-42 on May 6, 2021, which is expected to legalize the sale of cannabis for medical use in cases such as lupus, Alzheimer’s, cancer, and Parkinson’s and allow the selling of flowers (raw plant material), tinctures, oils, edibles and patches to patients suffering from the above qualifying conditions among others.
What are the charges for possessing marijuana in Texas?
· In the first offense of possession, amounts that are less than 16 oz (450 grams) are misdemeanors that are punishable with 1-year incarceration or a fine of $2,500 maximum.
· Any subsequent possession offense of any amount may cause a sentence of not over three and a half years and a fine of $100,000.
· Selling or distributing any amount could cause a fine of $300,000 to $500,000 and an incarceration sentence equivalent to the quantity and the severity of the marijuana offense.
Lydia K. (Bsc. RN) is a cannabis writer, which, considering where you’re reading this, makes perfect sense. Currently, she is a regular writer for Mace Media. In the past, she has written for MyBud, RX Leaf & Dine Magazine (Canada), CBDShopy (UK) and Cannavalate & Pharmadiol (Australia). She is best known for writing epic news articles and medical pieces. Occasionally, she deviates from news and science and creates humorous articles. And boy doesn't she love that! She equally enjoys ice cream, as should all right-thinking people.
You may like
Sérgio Neto, Business Consultant & Head Grower at CannaCare– Interview Series
Gino Kenny Introduces Bill to Irish Parliament to Legalize Recreational Cannabis
36 CAURD Licenses Finally Issued in New York: What’s Next?
CTrust Launches the First Ever Business Credit Score for the Cannabis Industry
Japan To Legalize the Importation of Medical Marijuana Products
Germany’s Marijuana Plan Leaves the EU & UN obligations Pending: Jason Adelstone