Connect with us

State Regulations

Marijuana Legality in Idaho

mm
Updated on

In the state of Idaho, cannabis use is prohibited. This means that the state does not permit cannabis use for medical or recreational purposes. Idaho has some of the harshest cannabis laws in the United States. Possession of small amounts of cannabis is a punishable misdemeanor. Though support to legalize cannabis for medical use has been rife among the citizens since 2018, both the Governor and legislature remain firmly opposed to this. Recreational use is still a long way away from gaining support and seeing the light of day.

In February 2021, CBD containing THC of up to 0.1% was descheduled and thereby made legal. Two months later, the production, transportation, and use of hemp which contains less than 0.3% THC was legalized.

What are the penalties for possession and the intent to sell recreational cannabis in the state of Idaho?

Possession for Personal Use:

· Not over 3 oz–Misdemeanor offense with 1-year imprisonment or $ 1,000 fine.

· Between 3 and 1 lb- Felony charge with 5-year jail sentence or $ 10,000 fine, or both.

Possession with intent to sell/distribute:

· Between 5 lbs and 25 lbs and plants less than 50–Felony charge with 1-year jail sentence, $ 50,000 fine.

· Between 5 lbs and 25 lbs and plants less than 100–Felony charge with 3 years’ jail sentence, $ 50,000 fine.

· Over 25 lbs of cannabis – Felony charge with 5 years’ jail sentence, $ 50,000 fine.

Possession by a minor below 18 years:

This is a felony and one faces a mandatory sentence of 5 years’ imprisonment or a $ 5,000 fine.

The state will find one guilty of trafficking when:

· Possesses 1 pound or more of cannabis, or 25 plants or more.

Sale or Delivery:

· Between 5 lbs and  25 lbs and fewer than 50 plants- Felony charge with 1-year imprisonment or $ 50,000

· Between 5lbs and 25 lbs or between 50 and 100 plants–Felony charge with 3 years’ imprisonment or $ 50,000

·   25 lbs or more of cannabis or 100 marijuana plants or more – Felony Charge attracting 5 years’ jail sentence or $ 50,000 fine

· Where a minor of 18 and below is present–A felony charge attracting 5 years’ imprisonment or a $ 50,000 fine with a Mandatory minimum sentence

Cultivation

· Between 5 lbs and  25 lbs and fewer than 50 plants- Felony charge with 1-year imprisonment or $ 50,000

· Between 5lbs and 25 lbs or between 50 and 100 plants–Felony charge with 3 years’ imprisonment or $ 50,000

·         25 lbs or more of cannabis or 100 marijuana plants or more – Felony Charge attracting 5 years’ jail sentence or $ 50,000 fine

· Where a minor of 18 and below is present–A felony charge attracting 5 years’ imprisonment or a $ 50,000 fine with a Mandatory minimum sentence

The Idaho Marijuana Legalization Initiative seeks to legalize the possession, use and transportation of up to three ounces of marijuana. However, this initiative will not appear on the 2022 ballot.

 

close

MyCannabis.com News!

We’d love to keep you updated with our latest cannabis news, industry interviews, and offers.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Lydia K. (Bsc. RN) is a cannabis writer, which, considering where you’re reading this, makes perfect sense. Currently, she is a regular writer for Mace Media. In the past, she has written for MyBud, RX Leaf & Dine Magazine (Canada), CBDShopy (UK) and Cannavalate & Pharmadiol (Australia). She is best known for writing epic news articles and medical pieces. Occasionally, she deviates from news and science and creates humorous articles. And boy doesn't she love that! She equally enjoys ice cream, as should all right-thinking people.

Advertiser Disclosure: MyCannabis.com is committed to rigorous editorial standards to provide our readers with accurate reviews and ratings. We may receive compensation when you click on links to products we reviewed.

Educational & Medical Disclaimer: This information is for educational purposes only. We are not medical professionals, and no information on this website should be construed as medical advice. For more information please view our Educational & Medical Disclaimer.

Minimum Age: To use this website you must be the minimum age as allowed in your jurisdiction. USA visitors must be 21, visitors from Canada must be 18 or 19 years of age depending on the province. It is illegal for a person younger than this to use this website.